Tour of Southland Stage 5 Wrap Up + Results

Nov 03, 2017

Canadian James Piccoli will seek to become just the fourth foreign winner in 61 years of the SBS Bank Tour of Southland on the final day of the 2017 edition.

The Kia Motors-Ascot Park Hotel rider holds a 35sec lead over Michael Torckler (Blindz Direct) and 38sec on Michael Vink (Mike Greer Homes) ahead of the final two stages, a 13km individual time trial in Winton followed by a nervous 77km final stage from Winton to Invercargill.

He attacked his way into the yellow jersey with a daring move 20km from the stage finish today, wiping out the 32sec deficit he began the day with behind Torckler, who finished back in the main bunch.

Brad Evans (PowerNet) wins the 151km fifth stage from Invercargill to Gore. Photo: Studio Jubb

“I was sort of in no-man’s land for a little bit and then I saw the tail of the caravan and that’s when I felt it was possible,” Piccoli said.

“I was lucky that I had a tailwind at the time, so it made the bridge across a little easier. We were super happy to pull it off. It was a little bit of a surprise, but we’ll take it.”

After racing in fine conditions and light winds for the first five days, the tour showed more of its traditional character on the way to Gore, but that didn’t stop the leaders from finishing more than half an hour early.

Brad Evans (PowerNet), the overall winner in 2015, claimed the stage from James Fouche (Creation Signs L&M Group Mining Ricoh) and Logan Griffin (Tank Guy/Bike Box Rentals).

“We had wind and rain all day, so it was full gas all day,” Piccoli said.

“The breakaway had originally gone up the road and had some pretty dangerous guys in it on GC. The team brought it back just close enough that I could get across. We kept the pressure on Blindz Direct all day and managed to pull it back just enough to get the yellow, so we are happy.”

Vink was the highest placed rider in a break which numbered nine at its peak and were out by close to 2min at Te Tipua to install Vink as the virtual leader.

Piccoli has led and won stage races before, and is looking forward to defending the yellow jersey.

While he is more used to racing time trials on specialist time trial bikes, he has done some training on a road bike.

Brad Evans (PowerNet) wins the 151km fifth stage from Invercargill to Gore. Photo: Studio Jubb

“I wouldn’t call myself a time trial specialist, but I can hold my own,” he said.

“I’m looking forward to the last two stages of the race. Everyone is probably pretty tired at this stage of the race, that’s the way stage races go, but we’ll see what we have got left in the legs.”

Despite having many overseas visitors over the years, only three foreign riders have had their names inscribed on the Tour of Southland winners trophy – Australians Mal Powell in 1964 and Mitchell Lovelock-Fay in 2014, and United States rider John Lieswyn in 2002 and 2004.

Alexandra’s James Williamson (Creation Signs L&M Group Mining Ricoh) kept hold of the Sprint Ace jersey heading into the final day, with Piccoli surprising himself by also taking over the King of the Mountain classification.

Alex West (Team Skoda Racing) is the leading under 23 rider, while Paul Odlin (PowerNet) is the leading over 35 rider. Kia Motors-Ascot Park Hotel lead the team classification and Morgan Smith (Aardvark Excavators Ltd) was awarded Most Combative honours for the stage.

SBS Tour of Southland Results from the 6th stage of the SBS Tour of Southland.

Invercargill – Drummond – Hedgehope – Waimumu – Gore

  1. Brad Evans (PNL) 3h15m13s
  2. James Fouche (CLM) ST
  3. Logan Griffin (TGB) ST
  4. Michael Vink (MGH) ST
  5. James Piccoli (KAP) ST
  6. Nick Kergozou (PMK) at 45s
  7. Conner Sallee (GLS) at 45s
  8. Carne Groube (CBW) at 45s
  9. Ollie Jones (PNL) at 45s
  10. Jake Marryatt (CST) at 45s
  11. Sam Mobberley (ITM) at 45s
  12. Ryan Christensen (KAP) at 45s
  13. Cyrus Monk (KAP) at 45s
  14. Alex Heaney (PNL) at 45s
  15. Matias Fitzwater (CST) at 45s
  16. Greg Taylor (TFC) at 45s
  17. Campbell Pithie (ITM) at 45s
  18. Joseph Swale (CBW) at 45s
  19. Joshua Scott (CLM) at 45s
  20. Ben Andrews (AVE) at 45s
  21. Boris Clark (CST) at 45s
  22. Richard Randall (GLS) at 45s
  23. Andy Hagan (WWS) at 45s
  24. Taylor Gunman (KAP) at 45s
  25. Alex Quirk (ACA) at 45s

Overall Standings

  1. James Piccoli (KAP) 18h21m02s
  2. Michael Torckler (BZD) at 35s
  3. Michael Vink (MGH) at 38s
  4. Raphael Freienstein (AVE) at 02m34s
  5. Alex West (TSR) at 03m34s
  6. Brad Evans (PNL) at 03m43s
  7. Taylor Gunman (KAP) at 03m55s
  8. Ryan Christensen (KAP) at 04m02s
  9. James Fouche (CLM) at 04m16s
  10. Sam Mobberley (ITM) at 04m17s
  11. Jake Marryatt (CST) at 04m56s
  12. Boris Clark (CST) at 05m43s
  13. Kane Richards (ITM) at 05m45s
  14. Ben Andrews (AVE) at 06m44s
  15. Paul Odlin (PNL) at 07m00s
  16. Richard Randall (GLS) at 07m20s
  17. Mike Cuming (AVE) at 07m20s
  18. Tim Rush (MGH) at 07m21s
  19. Andy Hagan (WWS) at 07m28s
  20. Carne Groube (CBW) at 08m17s
  21. Campbell Pithie (ITM) at 09m00s
  22. Nick Kergozou (PMK) at 09m10s
  23. Cyrus Monk (KAP) at 10m27s
  24. Alex Quirk (ACA) at 10m32s
  25. Roman Van Uden (PNL) at 10m48s

Team Overall

  1. Kia Motors – Ascot Park Hotel 55h11m33s
  2. Aardvark Excavators Ltd at 04m50s
  3. Powernet at 07m41s
  4. ITM at 10m41s
  5. Mike Greer Homes at 13m00s
  6. Team Skoda Racing at 13m01s
  7. Calder Stewart at 16m10s
  8. Wheelworks Handcrafted Wheels at 25m57s
  9. Blindz Direct at 27m03s
  10. Giant Lakeside at 27m11s


  1. James Williamson (CLM) 31
  2. Alexander Ray (WWS) 30
  3. Morgan Smith (AVE) 23
  4. Paul Wright (CBW) 19
  5. Michael Vink (MGH) 15
  6. James Fouche (CLM) 15
  7. Mike Cuming (AVE) 12
  8. 8. Mathew Zenovich (MGH) 12
  9. Matt Ross (PNL) 12
  10. Josh Kuysten (BZD) 11

King of Mountains

  1. James Piccoli (KAP) 28
  2. Ben Barry (CLM) 26
  3. Logan Griffin (TGB) 25
  4. Michael Torckler (BZD) 16
  5. Michael Vink (MGH) 13
  6. Andy Hagan (WWS) 10
  7. Eric Marcotte (KAP) 10
  8. Brendan Cole (ITM) 8
  9. Joshua Scott (CLM) 8
  10. Florian Barket (TSR) 8
Academy Southland Supporting Athletes During Covid-19 Isolation
News, Sports
News, Sports

Academy Southland Supporting Athletes During Covid-19 Isolation

Nathan Burdon - - Mar 30, 2020

Academy Southland is continuing to support its athletes through the Covid-19 isolation period. Programme manager Jason McKenzie said the use…

Academy Southland Coach Programme Nominations Open
News, Sports
News, Sports

Academy Southland Coach Programme Nominations Open

News Desk - Mar 28, 2020

Academy Southland’s Performance Coach Programme provides a quality environment for up-skilling coaches. The first year of the programme focuses on…

2020 Netball Season Suspended For Foreseeable Future
News, Sports
News, Sports

2020 Netball Season Suspended For Foreseeable Future

News Desk - Mar 27, 2020

New Zealand’s ANZ Premiership along with community netball have been suspended for the foreseeable future whilst the Beko Netball League…

Golf Southland News
News, Sports
News, Sports

Golf Southland News

Jerrie Valli - Mar 26, 2020

Gilmour Rosebowl Riverton are now the proud holders of the Gilmour Rosebowl after defeating previous holders Tuatapere 3/2. Individual results…

Coronavirus: Olympic and Paralympic Games Postponed
Covid-19, News
Covid-19, News

Coronavirus: Olympic and Paralympic Games Postponed

News Desk - Mar 25, 2020

The Tokyo 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Games have been postponed until next year because of the worldwide coronavirus pandemic. The…