Southland Sidecar Championship Wrap Up Results & Photos

James Douglas and Harley Biddle mastered gruelling conditions to clinch the Southland Sidecar Championship at Oreti Park Speedway on Saturday.

The 44i duo held off strong challenges from an experienced field in the final stanza to snatch the chequered flag ahead of Aiden Thwaites and Shane Twiss.

(Photos thanks to Dave loudon Photography)

Shaun Kerr and Robin Poole leading Aiden Thwaites and Shane Twiss.

Wet weather leading up to the club’s final meeting of the season wrecked havoc with the track, forcing the cancellation of all junior racing, including the Southland Pee Wee Championships.

Pay Dysart and Glen Sole riding in the Classic Solo division.

A dedicated maintenance effort on the senior oval whipped it into adequate shape for both sidecar and solo competitors.

Zane Pay compete in the Solo B class.

In the newly-established B grade for sidecars, Jason Clark and Clare Hartnell took top honours, followed by Jamie Pocklington and Chris Leeden.

In his rookie season in the A grade solo ranks, Sam Taylor continued to impress to notch up his first meeting win as a senior, beating Jake Gillespie to the red sash.

Derek McRae rides in the Classic Solos event.

Classic solo riders earned bragging rights over their B Grade counterparts in an impromptu team event.

Jason and Brandon Riley contesting the Southland Sidecar Championship.

With the local season now completed, several Oreti club members will venture north to contest the Remembrance Championship and Short Track Nationals at Moore Park Speedway, near Christchurch, on April 21 and 22 respectively.

Shaun Kerr and Robin Poole in action.

Sievwright Oreti Park Speedway Results – 7th April 2018
Southland Sidecar Championship & Support Classes

– Solo A –
1st 7i – Sam Taylor – 10 points
2nd 11i – Jake Gillespie – 9 points
3rd 4i – Adam Shuttleworth – 5 points

– Teams – Solo B vs Classic –
1st 47 points – Classics
(13i – Glen Sole, 36i – Rhys Wilson, 67i – Paul Highsted, 69i – Joe Hughes, 71i – Derek MacRae, 91i – Les Payne)

2nd 43 Points – Solo B
(9i – Zane pay, 17i – Matt Highsted, 29i – Phil Coulthard, 46i – Jimmy Hannan, 48i – Pat Dysart)

– Southland Sidecar Championship –
1st 44i – James Douglas & Harley Biddle
2nd 58i – Aiden Thwaites & Shane Twiss
3rd 29i – Luke Thwaites & Neville Chalmers
4th 24i – Bradley Sharp & Lance Jefcoat (DNF)

– Sidecar B’s –
1st 82i – Jason Clarke & Claire Hartnell – 11 points
2nd 96i – Jamie Pocklington & Chris Leedon – 7 points
3rd 99n – Dallas Kelman & Chay McWilliam – 6 points

Rider of the Day : Joe Hughes

PRIZE GIVING – Date and time will be advised here on Facebook, keep an eye out.
Don’t forget to return all club trophies ASAP, either to your rep or via Karen and/or Joe Hughes.
Please don’t polish your trophies unless you have polish from a jewellers!

Friday Flashback
Motoring, Old Invercargill
Motoring, Old Invercargill

Friday Flashback

Old Invercargill - Feb 16, 2020

Today we take a look back at car adverts and classifieds from the 1980's when Ford Cortina before Telstar, Mitsubishi…

Flashback – Classic Car Sale Adverts 1965 – 1987
Motoring, Old Invercargill
Motoring, Old Invercargill

Flashback – Classic Car Sale Adverts 1965 – 1987

Old Invercargill - Dec 30, 2019

Some great cars here in these car adverts from 1965 to 1986 some long-gone car sales names like Gladstone, Beck…

Photos From Drive 4 Life
Motor Sport, Motoring
Motor Sport, Motoring

Photos From Drive 4 Life

Southland Motorsport News - Feb 26, 2019

Sunday 24th February was the fundraiser for mental health Drive4Life at Teretonga Park. Organisers Bree Nutsford and Sam Hole were pleased how…