Meet Your 2019 Southland Stags Squad (video + full list)

Jul 20, 2019

This morning Rugby Southland had the pleasure of announcing our 2019 SIT Zero Fees Southland Stags Squad. The event was celebrated by staff, sponsors and players alike.

“The squad of thirty five we have assembled is still one of the most local Mitre 10 Cup squads in the country, 26 of whom are from Southland.We also have players such as Marty McKenzie and Mike McKee who have returned to their home province after a few years away, but we are still proud to claim them as our own” Head coach Dave Hewett said.

We are excited about the squad, they are gelling very well and the new players in the squad are going to bring their own individual strengths to the Southland Jersey

Elliot Dixon will be returning to the province, although with an upcoming international club deal in Japan, the Union and Elliot have some processes to go through before he can take the field.

This season kicks of against Northland at Rugby Park Stadium Thursday August 8th, followed by a Ranfurly Shield challenge against Otago on August 17th in what will be one of the biggest derby’s of the Mitre 10 Cup.

The 2019 SIT Zero Fees Southland Stags Squad is as follows:


  • Joe Walsh – Woodlands
  • Ethan De Groot – Invercargill Blues
  • Chris Apoua – Star
  • Shaun Stodart – Marist
  • Morgan Mitchell – Toronto Arrows


  • Flynn Thomas – Marist
  • Brayden Mitchell – Star
  • Greg Pleasants-Tate – Star


  • Manaaki Selby-Rickit – Star
  • Ben Fotheringham – Marist
  • Ray Tatafu – Invercargill Blues
  • Mike McKee – Asia Pacific Dragons

Loose Forwards

  • Ben Paulin – Invercargill Blues
  • Taine Te Whata – Invercargill Blues
  • Charles Alaimalo – Woodlands
  • Matt James – Woodlands
  • Phil Halder – Marist

Number 8’s

  • Bill Fukofuka – Invercargill Blues
  • Pasilio Tosi – Marist
  • Elliot Dixon – Highlanders


  • Jay Renton – Invercargill Blues
  • Nico Costa – Woodlands
  • Logan Crowley – Taranaki

1st Five Eights’

  • Mitchell Taylor – Invercargill Blues
  • Scott Eade – Marist
  • Marty McKenzie – Chiefs


  • Ray Nu’u – Green Island
  • Javaan Fa’amoe- Ioane – Marist
  • Seb Wileman – Queensland Reds
  • Moses Faletolu – Woodlands

Outside backs

  • Lewis Ormond – Woodlands
  • Issac Te Tamaki – Pirates Old Boys
  • Rory Van Vugt – ENC Barbarians
  • Josh Moorby – Woodlands
  • Lausii Taliauli – Brumbies


  • Head Coach- Dave Hewett
  • Assistant Coach (Attack Coach) Jason Kawau
  • Assistant Coach (Defence Coach) Dale MacLeod


  • Captain: TBC
  • Vice Captain: TBC
Action Photos From Stags vs Otago
News, Sports
News, Sports

Action Photos From Stags vs Otago

Sports Hub - Aug 18, 2019

Some great action photos from Saturdays Ranfurly shield match Southland Stags vs Otago in Dunedin by Richard Dimmock/Richard Dimmock Photography.

Kiwi Team Pursuit Riders Settle For Silver In Remarkable Final
News, Sports
News, Sports

Kiwi Team Pursuit Riders Settle For Silver In Remarkable Final

Sports Hub - Aug 17, 2019

The New Zealand women’s team pursuit have had to settle for a silver medal by the narrowest of margins in…

Kiwi Team Pursuit Combinations Chase Medals In Germany
News, Sports
News, Sports

Kiwi Team Pursuit Combinations Chase Medals In Germany

Sports Hub - Aug 15, 2019

The New Zealand men’s team pursuit will take on Russia for the bronze medal after the opening day of competition…