Liam MacDonald Rounds Off Season with Club Championship

Jul 03, 2018

Liam MacDonald was crowned Club Champion at the Southland Sports Car Club Annual Prizegiving at Teretonga Park on Monday night. It was the fifth time MacDonalddd had won the Southland Sports Car Club Champions Trophy after winning it four times in succession from 2013 before finishing runner-up last year.

Liam MacDonald with some of the blink from club awards. Photo: Photo: Alan King

It capped off a superb season for the 20-year-old. He won the Noel McIntyre Trophy for winning the club’s Race Championship, the Auto Centre Trophy in the 2501cc & over Race class and finished second in the Flying Farewell Championship while in Clubsport he won the Keith McFadzien Trophy for the  Motorkhana Championship, finished second in the Sprint Championship and runner-up overall in the Clubsport Championship. The club also marked his second straight NZ Touring Cars Class 2 Championship with an Outstanding Achievement Award.

Club Championship runner-up Andrew Lawrie. Photo: Alan King

Andrew Lawrie was the runner-up in the Club Championship. Lawrie, a clubsport competitor, won the Warren Robbie Memorial Trophy for winning the Clubsport Championship and the SSCC Speed Trophy in the Sprint Championship and was runner-up in the Motorkhana Championship. Lawrie also won the Stresscrete 1601cc & over Speed Trophy.

Lawrie’s wife Rachel was also acknowledged with an Outstanding Achievement Award recognising her efforts in winning the Women’s Trophy at the New Zealand Clubsport Championships in Christchurch during the season. She also took the Club’s Ladies Championship for the season.

MacDonald’s full haul of silverware from Monday night’s Southland Sports Car Club 2017/2018 season prize giving. Photo: Alan King

Other class winners in the race championship were Club President Rachael Beck of Invercargill who won the Arrow International Trophy for the 1601-2500cc class, Dayle Kirby of Winton, who took the Nebulite Windows & Doors Trophy for the 1301-1600cc class as well as the Howard Kingsford-Smith Trophy for the Most Improved Driver. Todd Blackmun of Invercargill won the Turntru Machining Trophy for the 0-1300cc class for the fourth year in a row. In the Sports & Racing Car Class Gregory Scott of Dunedin won both the Harold Williams Memorial Trophy for the Overall Championship and the Evolution Motorsport Trophy for the Flying Farewell Championship.

Others to receive awards on the night were Travis McPherson who took the Discount Tyres 0-1600cc Speed Trophy, Joshua Cooper who won the Ladies Committee Trophy for Junior Driver Of The Year and Jeremy Dawson the Erskine Flying Farewell Trophy.

Two volunteers who constantly go above and beyond were also acknowledged with awards. Greg McLeod won the RB Munro Workers Award Trophy for the season and Bernard Mathews won the Macks Panel & Paint Trophy for Marshall Of The Year.

Life Member Allan Batt was the latest to join the illustrious names on the Keith Douglas Memorial Distinguished Service Award Trophy. Batt, a member of the Southland Sports Car Club for over 40 years has served on every committee, was President for two years and was awarded Life Membership in 2002. He has fulfilled many other roles within the club and continues to do so to this day.


PRIZE GIVING 2017/2018



MOTORKHANA CHAMPION – Keith McFadzien Trophy

  • 1st  Liam MacDonald
  • 2nd Andrew Lawrie
  • 3rd Jeremy Lennon


  • 1st   Andrew Lawrie
  • 2nd  Liam MacDonald
  • 3rd  Travis McPherson


  • 1st Travis McPherson


  • 1st Andrew Lawrie

CLUBSPORT CHAMPION – Warren Robbie Memorial Trophy

  • 1st  Andrew Lawrie
  • 2nd Liam MacDonald
  • 3rd Jeremy Lennon


SPORTS & RACING CHAMPION – Harold Williams Memorial Trophy

  • 1st     Gregory Scott
  • 2nd Jordan Michels
  • 3rd Robin Williams

FLYING FAREWELL CHAMPION – Evolution Motorsport Trophy

  • 1st   Gregory Scott
  • 2nd  Jordan Michels
  • 3rd  Greg Millane


0-1300cc Turntru Machining Trophy

  • 1st   Todd Blackmun
  • 2nd Wal Willmott
  • 3rd  Jordan Michels

1301-1600cc – Nebulite Windows & Doors Trophy

  • 1st  Dayle Kirby
  • 2nd Andrew Muir
  • 3rd  Jeremy Dawson

1601-2500cc – Arrow International Trophy

  • 1st  Rachael Beck
  • 2nd Wayne Elliott
  • 3rd Olivia Beck-Graham

2501cc & over – Auto Centre Trophy

  • 1st  Liam MacDonald
  • 2nd Ian McKenzie
  • 3rd Jeremy Dawson

FLYING FAREWELL CHAMPION – Erskine Flying Farewell Trophy

  • 1st Jeremy Dawson
  • 2nd Liam MacDonald
  • 3rd Andrew Muir

MOST IMPROVED DRIVER – Howard Kingsford-Smith Trophy

  • Dayle Kirby


JUNIOR DRIVER – Ladies Committee Trophy

  • Joshua Cooper

LADIES CHAMPION – SSCC Club Championship Ladies Trophy

  • Rachel Lawrie


RACE CHAMPION                                                      Noel McIntyre Trophy

1st             Liam MacDonald

2nd            Todd Blackmun

3rd             Wal Willmott

RUNNER UP – CLUB CHAMPION – SSCC Club Champion Runner Up Trophy

  • Andrew Lawrie

SSCC CLUB CHAMPION – SSCC Club Champions Trophy

  • Liam MacDonald

WORKERS AWARD – R B Munro Trophy

  • Greg McLeod

MARSHALL OF THE YEAR – Macks Panel & Paint Trophy

  • Bernard Mathews

 DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD – Keith Douglas Memorial Trophy

  • Allan Batt

Outstanding Achievement

  • Liam MacDonald – NZ Touring Cars Class 2 Champion
  • Rachel Lawrie – NZ Ladies Champion – ClubSport

Certificates of Appreciation                                                   

  • ICC – Iconic Events
  •  Mr Murray Pfeifer
  • Invercargill Licensing Trust
  • ILT Foundation
  • Community Trust of Southland
  • Mark Purdue
  • SouthRoads

You may be interested

Time For Positive Change

Time For Positive Change

Opinion - Mar 21, 2019

OPINION: We have all seen the proposal for this city centre development potentially one of the biggest retail developments of…

Trucks & Muscle Cars Star Attractions At Teretonga Park This Weekend
Motor Sport, News
Motor Sport, News

Trucks & Muscle Cars Star Attractions At Teretonga Park This Weekend

Lindsay Beer - Mar 21, 2019

The NZ Super Trucks and Mainland Muscle Cars are the star attractions at this weekend’s motor racing action, presented by…

Funeral Notices – Thursday 21st March
Funeral Notices
Funeral Notices

Funeral Notices – Thursday 21st March

Notices - Mar 21, 2019

If you would like your recently lost loved ones death / funeral notice or memoriam listed here, contact your Funeral…