Hospice Fundraiser Tractor Trek from Bluff to Cape Reinga

Feb 12, 2018
944 Views

A cavalcade of Vintage Tractors, Jeeps and Trucks, trekking 2000k Bluff to Cape Reinga fundraising for Hospice have set off from Invercargill today raising money Hospice New Zealand.

You can donate to this great cause via their Givealittle page  and follow their progress via their Facebook page

Photo: whatsoninvers.nz

The tractor trek organizer Phil Aish said after his wife Janice passed away after being diagnosed with cancer 3 1/2 years ago Phil wanted to do something in Janice’s memory and he decided on raising money for Hospice.

Photo: whatsoninvers.nz

In 2016 the Great New Zealand Tractor Trek raised $100,000 for Hospices cross the country.

Photo: whatsoninvers.nz

“The unbelievable caring and compassionate people at Hospice made it possible for me to simply be there for my wife of 48 years – to sit by her side and hold her hand” says Phil “The genuine kindness, understanding and patience of everyone at hospice never diminished and they were caring of me and my family.

Photo: whatsoninvers.nz

“This trek is a promise to my darling wife and a legacy to those that cared for her”

Photo: whatsoninvers.nz

You can donate to this great cause via their Givealittle page  and follow their progress via their Facebook page

Photo: whatsoninvers.nz

Tractor Trek Itinerary 

12 Feb Mon Invercargill to Bluff to Invercargill
13 Feb Tues Invercargill to Athol
14 Feb Wed Athol to Hawea
15 Feb Thurs Hawea to Haast
16 Feb Fri Haast to Franz Josef
17 Feb Sat Franz Josef to Greymouth
18 Feb Sun Greymouth to Westport
19 Feb Mon Westport to St Arnaud
20 Feb Tues St Arnaud to Blenheim
21 Feb Wed Blenheim to Picton to Wellington to Pentone
22 Feb Thurs Pentone to Eastborne Baring Point to Masterton
23 Feb Fri Masterton to Alfredton to Porongahau
24 Feb Sat Porongahau to Waipukurau to Napier
25 Feb Sun Napier to Wairoa to Morere
26 Feb Mon Morere to Gisborne to Matawai
27 Feb Tues Matawai to Ohope
28 Feb Wed Ohope to Ngongataha
1 Mar Thurs Ngongtaha to Miranda
2 Mar Fri Miranda to Manukau to Auckland
3 Mar Sat Rest day
4 Mar Sun Auckland to Pahi
5 Mar Mon Pahi to Dargavil To Kaihu
6 Mar Tues Kaihu to Kohokohu
7 Mar Wed Kohokohu to Pukenui
8 Mar Thurs Pukenui via 90 Mile beach, Cape Reinga to Pukenui
9 Mar Fri Pukenui to Kaitaia

 

 

You may be interested

Funeral Notices – Friday 17th August
Funeral Notices
71 views
Funeral Notices
71 views

Funeral Notices – Friday 17th August

Notices - Aug 17, 2018

If you would like your recently lost loved ones death/funeral notice listed on contact your Funeral Director for more information…

Clinton Woman Emma Sutherland Recognised for Service to NZ Young Farmers
News, Southland
151 views
News, Southland
151 views

Clinton Woman Emma Sutherland Recognised for Service to NZ Young Farmers

News Desk - Aug 16, 2018

A Clinton woman has been recognised for her tireless service to NZ Young Farmers and her community. Emma Sutherland, 31,…

Main Street, Gore Nominated for Keep NZ Beautiful Awards
Gore, News
259 views
Gore, News
259 views

Main Street, Gore Nominated for Keep NZ Beautiful Awards

News Desk - Aug 16, 2018

Finalists for the Keep New Zealand Beautiful Awards 2018 have just been released and the Gore District Council is proud…