Hospice Fundraiser Tractor Trek from Bluff to Cape Reinga

Feb 12, 2018
1042 Views

A cavalcade of Vintage Tractors, Jeeps and Trucks, trekking 2000k Bluff to Cape Reinga fundraising for Hospice have set off from Invercargill today raising money Hospice New Zealand.

You can donate to this great cause via their Givealittle page  and follow their progress via their Facebook page

Photo: whatsoninvers.nz

The tractor trek organizer Phil Aish said after his wife Janice passed away after being diagnosed with cancer 3 1/2 years ago Phil wanted to do something in Janice’s memory and he decided on raising money for Hospice.

Photo: whatsoninvers.nz

In 2016 the Great New Zealand Tractor Trek raised $100,000 for Hospices cross the country.

Photo: whatsoninvers.nz

“The unbelievable caring and compassionate people at Hospice made it possible for me to simply be there for my wife of 48 years – to sit by her side and hold her hand” says Phil “The genuine kindness, understanding and patience of everyone at hospice never diminished and they were caring of me and my family.

Photo: whatsoninvers.nz

“This trek is a promise to my darling wife and a legacy to those that cared for her”

Photo: whatsoninvers.nz

You can donate to this great cause via their Givealittle page  and follow their progress via their Facebook page

Photo: whatsoninvers.nz

Tractor Trek Itinerary 

12 Feb Mon Invercargill to Bluff to Invercargill
13 Feb Tues Invercargill to Athol
14 Feb Wed Athol to Hawea
15 Feb Thurs Hawea to Haast
16 Feb Fri Haast to Franz Josef
17 Feb Sat Franz Josef to Greymouth
18 Feb Sun Greymouth to Westport
19 Feb Mon Westport to St Arnaud
20 Feb Tues St Arnaud to Blenheim
21 Feb Wed Blenheim to Picton to Wellington to Pentone
22 Feb Thurs Pentone to Eastborne Baring Point to Masterton
23 Feb Fri Masterton to Alfredton to Porongahau
24 Feb Sat Porongahau to Waipukurau to Napier
25 Feb Sun Napier to Wairoa to Morere
26 Feb Mon Morere to Gisborne to Matawai
27 Feb Tues Matawai to Ohope
28 Feb Wed Ohope to Ngongataha
1 Mar Thurs Ngongtaha to Miranda
2 Mar Fri Miranda to Manukau to Auckland
3 Mar Sat Rest day
4 Mar Sun Auckland to Pahi
5 Mar Mon Pahi to Dargavil To Kaihu
6 Mar Tues Kaihu to Kohokohu
7 Mar Wed Kohokohu to Pukenui
8 Mar Thurs Pukenui via 90 Mile beach, Cape Reinga to Pukenui
9 Mar Fri Pukenui to Kaitaia

 

 

You may be interested

Cycling Showdown For Double Header Calder Stewart Weekend
News, Sports
664 views
News, Sports
664 views

Cycling Showdown For Double Header Calder Stewart Weekend

Sports Hub - Oct 20, 2018

The elite men’s race is shaping up as a showdown between New Zealand’s best domestic based riders and a number…

Sport Southland Take On Coast To Coast
News, Sports
178 views
News, Sports
178 views

Sport Southland Take On Coast To Coast

Nathan Burdon - southlandsport.com - Oct 20, 2018

Sport Southland staff members will put themselves well and truly out of their comfort zone during next year’s Kathmandu Coast…

Big Karting Weekend Ahead
Motor Sport, News
633 views
Motor Sport, News
633 views

Big Karting Weekend Ahead

Motor Hub - Oct 20, 2018

South Island Sprint Kart Championships title time again with events in Invercargill over Labour Weekend. South Island Sprint title meeting…