Sports · 3 Jun 2021

Finalists Announced for 2021 ILT Southland Sports Awards

Southland Sports News

Southland Sports News


Thirty-four finalists across 18 codes have been confirmed for this year’s 2021 ILT Southland Sports Awards.

The finalists were announced at a celebration of Southland sport at ILT Stadium Southland on Thursday 3rd June, where sporting achievement over the past 12 months was recognised.

The winners across eight categories and several Services to Sport awards will be unveiled at the Ascot Park Hotel on June 25.

Sport Southland hosts the annual awards on behalf of the Southland Amateur Sports Trust, which has owned the awards since their inception in 1953, making these the longest-running awards of their kind in New Zealand.

“Even after a year which was heavily affected by the Covid-19 pandemic, with many pinnacle events cancelled, postponed or modified, Southlanders have achieved at the highest levels possible,” Sport Southland chief executive Brendon McDermott said.

“As a sporting community we are collectively so proud of what these athletes have overcome and how they are inspiring the next generation of Southlanders.”

The Sport Southland Services to Sport, with up to four people able to be honoured each year, will also be announced on June 25.

The public will get the chance to be involved over the next month through the Southland Times People’s Choice award.

Tickets for this year’s awards, which include entertainment and a three-course dinner, are now available for $95 individually and $900 per table. Contact [email protected] for details.


*Southland Times People’s Choice finalists to be announced soon

NZME Masters Achievement: 

  • Dwight Grieve (athletics)
  • Southland men’s masters golf team (golf)

Southland Kia Team of the Year: 

  • Southland Sharks 3X3 (basketball)
  • Southland men’s bowls team (bowls)
  • Southland under 18 mixed touch team (touch)
  • Southland elite women’s sprint team (track cycling)

Creation Signs Official of the Year: 

  • Erin Criglington (cycling)
  • Nicky McNaught (squash)
  • Kristie Simpson (netball)
  • Peter Pasco (cricket)

Ricoh South Coach of the Year: 

  • Shaun Cantwell (athletics)
  • Sid Cumming (cycling)
  • Dale Macleod (rugby)
  • Scott Eade (touch)

BDO Administrator of the Year: 

  • Elizabeth Henry (Parkrun)
  • Ignacio Sande (football)
  • Noel Eade (softball)

Vodafone Junior Sportsperson of the Year: 

  • Rhylee Akeroyd (cycling)
  • Cormac Buchanan (motorbike racing)
  • Losa Fifita (netball)
  • Quinn Hartley (athletics)
  • Shakira Mirfin (rowing)
  • Shawn Perry (indoor bowls)
  • Dean Stewart (multisport)
  • Jack Symon (moto-cross)
  • Kennedy Taylor (athletics)

ILT Senior Sportsperson of the Year: 

  • Jacob Duffy (cricket)
  • Kirsty James (cycling)
  • Nick Kergozou (cycling)
  • Amy du Plessis (rugby)
  • Corbin Strong (cycling)
  • Megan Whitehead (shearing)
  • Tori Peeters (athletics)
  • Alena Saili (rugby)