Southland Sports Awards Finalists (Full List) – What's On Invers

Southland Sports Awards Finalists (Full List)

May 10, 2017

Twenty-nine finalists representing 14 different sports have been announced as finalists for the ILT Southland Sports Awards.

With Olympic medal winners, age group world and national title holders and plenty of national winners among them, there is a stellar line up of athletes, teams, coaches, administrators and officials.

Sport Southland Chief Executive Brendon McDermott said the quality was once again, outstanding.

“To see the line-up of finalists – from shearers to Olympic Weightlifting officials to All Blacks and Olympians – is inspirational,” he said.

“These people work so hard for the results they have achieved, and to see so many Southlanders excel at international and national level is something we should all, as fellow Southlanders, be extremely proud of.”

The ILT Southland Sports Awards will be celebrated on Friday June 9 at the Ascot Park Hotel.

With legendary broadcaster Keith Quinn announced as guest speaker, LA Social locked in to entertain and 29 exceptional finalists to celebrate, the evening promised a fantastic night out, McDermott said.

Ticket information can be found at

Senior Sportsperson:

  • Genevieve Behrent (Rowing)
  • Eddie Dawkins (Cycling)
  • Elliot Dixon (Rugby)
  • Wendy Frew (Netball)
  • Nathan Stratford (Shearing)
  • Colin Waghorn (Clay Target Shooting)

Junior Sportsperson:

  • Jack Beaumont (Athletics)
  • Bradly Knipe (Cycling)
  • Sammy Murrell (Football)
  • Alena Saili (Rugby)
  • Tom Sexton (Cycling)

Southland Team of the Year:

  • Emma Cumming & Ellesse Andrews (Cycling)
  • Netball South Beko Team (Netball)
  • Southern Steel (Netball)
  • Southland U18 Mixed Touch Team (Touch)
  • SGHS First XV (Rugby)
  • Southland Women’s Senior Hockey (Hockey)

Southland Coach of the Year:

  • Joe Findley (Rowing)
  • Nathan Muir (Rugby)
  • Dennis Thompson (Touch)
  • Karl Watson (Cycling)

Administrator of the Year:

  • Norma Burns (Motor Sport)
  • Jason Domigan (Cricket)
  • Mike Hogan (Shearing)

Official of the Year:

  • Barbara Grieve (Olympic Weightlifting)
  • Richie Heap (Touch)
  • Kristie Simpson (Netball)

Masters Achievement of the Year:

  • Trevor Colyer (Squash)
  • Erin Criglington (Cycling)


You may be interested

Dowie Welcomes Funding For Rakiura Heritage Centre
0 shares77 views
0 shares77 views

Dowie Welcomes Funding For Rakiura Heritage Centre

Takie - Jul 21, 2017

Sarah Dowie, MP for Invercargill, welcomes the Government’s investment of over $1 million for the development of the Rakiura Heritage…

Arrest Following June Nith Street Assault
0 shares2555 views
0 shares2555 views

Arrest Following June Nith Street Assault

Takie - Jul 21, 2017

Invercargill Police have today made an arrest following an assault in Nith Street on 29 June. The person arrested was…

Mike Pero Home of the Week
Home of the week
0 shares394 views
Home of the week
0 shares394 views

Mike Pero Home of the Week

Takie - Jul 21, 2017

Motivated vendor has priced her house to sell today! Extremely tidy and immaculate 3 bedroom villa, modern kitchen and new…