Sports · 4 May 2021

Rugby Southland Name High Performance Squad for 2021

Southland Sports News

Southland Sports News


This squad is a make up of current signed SIT Zero Fees Southland Stags and players noted to be of potential for the 2021 SIT Zero Fees Southland Stags Squad.

The High-Performance Squad will assemble and train over the next several months with contracts being offered to selected players in the lead up to the Bunnings Warehouse NPC season that kicks off in early August.

Congratulations to all players selected.


  • Joe Walsh (Woodlands)
  • Kane Prentice (ENC Barbarians)
  • Sanasco Crichton (Star)
  • Chris Barrett (Woodlands)
  • Niko Manaena (Star)
  • Greg Pleasants-Tate (Star)
  • Flynn Thomas (Marist)
  • Jacob Payne (Blues)
  • Talemaitoga Tuapati (POB)
  • Caleb Aperahama (Woodlands)
  • Joe Robins (Midlands)
  • Aleki Saili (Marist)
  • Craig Smith (POB)
  • Ben Fotheringham (Marist)
  • Ben Paulin (Blues)
  • Matt James (Woodlands)
  • Jacob Coghlan (ENC Barbarians)
  • Hayden Michaels (Blues)
  • Dustin Coveney (POB)
  • Charles Alaimalo (Woodlands)
  • Liam Udy-Johns (Marist)
  • Arese Poliko (Blues)


  • Jay Renton (Marist)
  • Liam Howley (Woodlands)
  • Marty McKenzie (Woodlands)
  • Greg Dyer (POB)
  • Bram Fodie (Edendale)
  • Emeka IIogu (ENC Barbarians)
  • Tevita Latu (Marist)
  • Desmond Spooner (POB)
  • Matt Whaanga (Woodlands)
  • Isaac Te Tamaki (POB)
  • Micaiah Johnston-Brown (Star)
  • Materua Tupou (POB)
  • Will Murray (Marist)
  • Kieran Lee (Woodlands)
  • Brad Kooman (Blues)