Motor Sport · 16 Jan 2021

Drift South Action Highlight at Teretonga Park

Lindsay Beer

Lindsay Beer


Round 3 of the DriftSouth Series was the highlight of the Saturday programme at Teretonga Park in Invercargill today.

Sheldon Kneale of Ashburton in his Nissan Silvia S13 was the big winner, taking victory over Michael Thorley of Auckland ((Nissan Laurel) in the final with Dylan Rastrick of Christchurch third in his Silvia. Rastrick also won the Best Chase Award. Ben Luff of Methven was fourth in another Nissan Silvia in a day of action presented by Downer.

The DriftSouth competitors loved the circuit and a good crowd gathered to watch the action.

There was also racing action on track today and Dunedin drivers Chris Henderson and Steve Ross continued their battle from their last visit to Teretonga Park in the first of the OSCA Super Saloon races, Henderson in his LS-powered Toyota GT86 taking the win from Ross in his Jaguar XK with Paul Brooks of Kaiapoi third in his Nissan Silvia S15.

DriftSouth action at Teretonga Park today, Photo: Ron Veint

Liam MacDonald in his Falcon qualified fastest in the Noel McIntyre Drainage Club Saloons but second qualifier Brendan Mason got the jump at the start, the two having a big battle until MacDonald was forced into the pits, leaving Mason to win from Kyle Dawson in a Nissan Skyline with Duncan McCrostie of Cromwell in a Porsche 997 GT3 Cup third.

David Booth of Dunedin took the opening race of the 2K Teretonga Challenge at the wheel of his Toyota Levin ahead of Greg Mitchell of Darfield in his Toyota Carina ED. However, a ten second penalty handed to Mitchell for a false start elevated Christchurch drivers Jonathan Prince (Toyota Levin) and Jason Lambert (Toyota Trueno) to second and third respectively.

Meanwhile the two remaining classes on the programme took part in qualifying today in preparation for their races tomorrow. In the South Island Formula 1600 series Rangiora driver James Penrose in a Van Diemen Stealth, unbeaten in the South Island Formula 1600 Championship so far this season, has qualified on pole for tomorrow’s first of three races for the class. Defending champion Jack Noble-Adams was second fastest .551 of a second behind followed by Riverton driver Ethan Anderson and Zac Christensen of Rolleston while former NZV8 competitor Justin Ashwell of Christchurch in a Ford Falcon secured pole in the NZ Six Saloon qualifying.

Tomorrow’s action commences at 9.20am with a full day of racing scheduled to conclude at around 3.30pm.

DriftSouth podium: (From left) the cars of Ben Luff, Dylan Rastrick, Michael Thorley and DriftSouth Round 3 winner Sheldon Kneale of Ashburton, Photo: Ron Veint.